Roll call for LI Assembly members on tax cap plan

Now that Gov. David Paterson is looking to put a property tax cap on the agenda for his emergency legislative session in August, Long Island lawmakers are quickly lining up either for or against the proposal.
The proposal, hatched by the New York State Commission on Property Tax Relief and its head, Nassau County Executive Tom Suozzi, is facing a tough time in the Democrat-controlled Assembly. The Republican-led Senate has said it will take action on capping school taxes.
The plan calls for a cap on property tax increases at 4 percent a year or 120 percent of inflation, whichever is lower. Districts that want to tax at a higher rate would have to get 55 percent of their voters to approve it.
State Assembly members from Long Island in favor of the property tax cap include Democrats Marc Alessi, of Wading River; Patricia Eddington, of Medford; Steve Englebright, of Port Jefferson Station; Ginny Fields, of Bayport; Phil Ramos, of Brentwood; and Charles Lavine, of Glen Cove. Republicans who support the plan include Fred W. Thiele Jr., of Sag Harbor; Michael Fitzpatrick, of Smithtown; Philip Boyle, of Bay Shore; and James Conte, of Huntington Station.
Republicans Rob Walker, of Hicksville; Tom Mckevitt, of East Meadow; David McDonough, of Levittown; Tom Alfano, of Franklin Square; Bob Barra, of Lynbrook; Joseph Saladino, of Massapequa; and Andrew Raia, of East Northport are undecided.
Assemblywoman Michelle Schimmel (D-Great Neck) and Assemblyman Harvey Weisenberg (D-Long Beach) say they will vote ?no? on the plan.
Assemblyman Robert Sweeney (D-Lindenhurst) says he?s leaning toward ?no.? He told News 12 Long Island he sees the plan as a quick fix rather than a long-term solution.
The only lawmaker News 12 Long Island did not hear back from was Assemblywoman Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead).