Warning for iPhone users regarding iOS 17 update

A new iOS 17 feature called Name Drop, automatically activated after the update, potentially risks user privacy by sharing contact information when iPhones are brought close together.

News 12 Staff

Nov 27, 2023, 12:29 PM

Updated 201 days ago

Share:

The Orange County Sherriff's Office is warning of a new security risk involving a recent update to the software.
A new iOS 17 feature called Name Drop, automatically activated after the update, potentially risks user privacy by sharing contact information when iPhones are brought close together.
Police advise users to disable the feature via Settings > General > AirDrop > Bringing Devices Together, toggling it to "OFF" to prevent unintended sharing.


More from News 12