News 12 Long Island Village Vote 2018 Results

Posted: Updated:

There were eight village elections held across Long Island Tuesday, March 20. The results below come from Newsday

In the village of Amityville, incumbent Trustee Tom Whalen won his bid to defend his seat, with 978 votes, defeating Joseph G. Morin, who received 712 votes. Mayor Dennis Siry appointed Whalen to serve as trustee after Siry won a 2017 mayoral race over Trustee Nicholas LaLota; Whalen will now finish out the remaining year of his term.

Two candidates for one trustee spot:

  • Tom Whalen -- 978
  • Joe Morin -- 712

In Hempstead Village, challenger Jeffery J. Daniels beat incumbent Gladys Rodriguez for a one-year trustee term, according to Village Clerk Patricia Perez. Daniels received 755 votes and Rodriguez, who was appointed to the position a year ago to fill Mayor Don Ryan's trustee term when he won the mayor's seat, got 342 votes.

Two candidates for one trustee spot:

  • Gladys Rodriguez -- 342
  • Jeffery J. Daniels -- 755

Trustee incumbent Maryann Weckerle has won a fourth term as a village trustee, earning 1,451 unofficial votes, said village administrator Doug Madlon. Weckerle had two opponents: Shawn Cullinane, who got 676 votes, and Patrick Pichichero, who got 1,387 votes.

Three candidates for two trustee spots:

  • Maryann Weckerle -- 1,451
  • Shawn Cullinane -- 676
  • Patrick Pichichero -- 1,387

Mayor Scott Strauss kept his seat after winning 1,006 votes, according to Village Clerk Joseph Scalero. Strauss' challenger, Larry Werther, got 511. Mineola's two trustee seats have been filled by incumbents George Durham and Dennis Walsh. Walsh won a trustee seat with 992 votes and Durham also won a seat with 951 votes. Trustee candidates Regis and Cristi Gallet received 528 and 536, respectively.

Two candidates for mayor:

  • Scott Strauss -- 1006
  • Larry Werther -- 511

Four candidates for two trustee spots:

  • Dennis Walsh -- 992
  • George Durham -- 951
  • Regis Gallet -- 528
  • Cristi Gallet -- 536

Munsey Park
In a close race for two open trustee seats in the Village of Munsey Park, incumbent Jennifer Noone and resident Anthony Sabino edged out challengers Brian Dunning and Nathine Yakaitis. Noone received 321 votes and Sabino received 316 votes. Dunning had 275 votes and Yakaitis 269 votes.

Four candidates for two trustee seats:

  • Jennifer Noone -- 321
  • Nathy Yakaitis -- 269
  • Brian Dunning -- 275
  • Anthony Sabino -- 316

In Northport, incumbent Ian Milligan won his second term on the village board with 1,068 votes, according to Village Clerk Donna Koch. Former Trustee Thomas Kehoe took the second open seat, with 788 votes. Joseph Sabia lost with 772 votes.

Three candidates for two trustee spots:

  • Ian Milligan -- 1,068
  • Thomas Kehoe -- 788
  • Joseph Sabia -- 772

Sea Cliff
In Sea Cliff, Trustee Kevin McGilloway was re-elected to his third term and Henriette Rohl took the second open trustee seat on the village board, according to Village Clerk Marianne Lennon. McGilloway received 787 votes and Rohl took 648 votes. Terryl Donovan and Elizabeth Baron lost with 463 votes and 493 votes, respectively.

Four candidates for two trustee spots:

  • Kevin McGilloway -- 787
  • Henriette Rohl -- 648
  • Elizabeth Baron -- 463
  • Terryl Donovan -- 493

Williston Park
Incumbent Williston Park Mayor Paul Ehrbar defeated challenger Anthony Gagliardi, village clerk Julie Kain said.  Two trustee seats were also up for grabs. Incumbent Kevin Rynne was re-elected after garnering 846 votes.

Two candidates for mayor:

  • Paul Ehrbar -- 732
  • Anthony Gagliardi -- 322

Three candidates for two trustee seats:

  • Kevin Rynne -- 846
  • William O'Brien -- 800
  • Richard Sais -- 341
sorry to interrupt
your first 20 are free
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please enjoy 20 complimentary views of articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.
you have reached your 20 view limit
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please login or create an account to continue enjoying News12.
Our sign-up page is undergoing maintenance and is not currently available. However, you will be given direct access to while we complete our upgrade.
When we are back up and running you will be prompted at that time to complete your sign in. Until then, enjoy the local news, weather, traffic and more that's "as local as local news gets."