Long Island village election results including Manorhaven, Poquott, Brightwaters

Island Vote 2016

Island Vote 2016 (Credit: News 12 Long Island)

Village residents across Long Island voted in elections for mayors and trustees Tuesday, including several contested races:


Trustee James M. Avena beat former Mayor Gary Pagano to become the village’s new mayor-elect.

Pagano had served as mayor from 1992 to 1998. The village board — including Avena — will have to appoint a trustee to replace the mayor-elect, Gross said. The new trustee will have to run for the seat next year.

In the race for two trustee positions, Kenneth R. Kraft and incumbent Priscilla von Roeschlaub won, with each garnering 449 votes. Roy Smitheimer trailed with 420 votes, and Barbara Ruemenapp had 352.


James M. Avena: 505

Gary Pagano: 371


Kenneth R. Kraft: 449

Priscilla von Roeschlaub: 449

Roy Smitheimer: 420

Barbara Ruemenapp: 352



Lawrence Village voters elected two new trustees to two-year terms. Uri Kaufman and Syma Diamond defeated Rochelle Stern Kevelson and Daniel Goldstein for two open trustee seats. Trustee Alex Edelman ran unopposed for mayor. Edelman’s trustee seat will be filled by appointment for the remaining year of his term.


Uri Kaufman: 380

Syma Diamond: 319

Daniel J. Goldstein: 276

Rochelle Stern Kevelson: 157



Voters in the Village of Lake Success wrote in the names of four candidates to challenge the three incumbent candidates seeking three open trustee seats. Fred Handsman, Stephen Lam and Alan Mindel won the trustee seats with two-year terms. Trustee Adam Hoffman ran unopposed for mayor.


Adam Hoffman 156


Fred Handsman: 147

Stephen Lam: 135

Alan Mindel: 144

David Sitzer: 7

Scott Gorenstein: 1

Paul Davis: 1

Carol Bernstein: 1



Brightwaters village officials on Wednesday revised results from Tuesday’s election, and announced that challenger Carmine Chiappetta had won an open trustee seat over incumbent Diane Urso, 356 votes to 340 votes. Initial results Tuesday night showed Urso as the winner.

The results are being challenged by Urso, Village Clerk Donna Barnett said.

Trustee Laurie Elliott was also re-elected to her seat as was Mayor Joseph McDermott, who beat a write-in campaign for former trustee Denise Gibson. All terms are two years.


Joseph McDermott: 385

Denise Gibson: 116


Carmine Chiappetta: 356

Laurie Elliott: 347

Diane Urso: 340



Tara Higgins defeated appointed village justice William Glass and challenger Scott Zamek to serve the final three years of a four-year term.

Glass, who was appointed to the bench in October after longtime village justice Peter Graham died, was challenged by Tara Higgins and Zamek.

Village Justice:

Tara Higgins: 390

William Glass: 330

Scott Zamek: 158



Elliot S. Conway beat incumbent Mayor Terry Thielen by a single vote, Village Clerk Lauri D’Ambra said.

“It was a nail-biter,” said Conway, a retired Citibank managing director. “But villagers came out in force and I think change is in the air.”


Elliot S. Conway: 137

Terry Thielen: 136



Joseph Gagliano and Steven Mackin won two trustee seats on the Bellport Village Board. Both seats have two-year terms.

Gagliano and Mackin defeated S. David Smith.


Joseph Gagliano: 407

Steven Mackin: 381

S. David Smith: 358



Bayville voters elected three new trustees to four year terms and returned Village Justice Anthony Perri to office, according to vote totals reported by the village clerk.

Village Justice:

Incumbent Village Justice Anthony Perri: 1123

Madeleine Petrara-Perrin: 865


Robert De Natale: 1176

Robert Nigro: 1108

Michele Principe: 1087

Incumbent Harry Pinkerton III: 877

Lisa Maloney: 872

Alfred Avazis: 845



Poquott Mayor Dolores Parrish won a new term as leader of the small North Shore village, despite having to run as a write-in candidate after she was removed from the ballot.

The village’s website reported Parrish won her second two-year term Tuesday by defeating former Mayor Barbara Donovan. The website did not give vote totals.

Voters also elected John Mastauskas and Michael H. Schaefer to two open trustee seats, each carrying a two-year term.

Mastauskas and Schaefer defeated incumbent trustee Sandra Nicoletti and challengers Joan Hubbard and Gary Garofano, the village website said Wednesday.

Parrish, 48, who had unseated Donovan, 68, in 2014, was thrown off the ballot in early June by State Supreme Court Justice W. Gerard Asher due to candidate petitions that contained illegible signatures and other errors. Nicoletti, Garofano and Mastauskas also lost their places on the ballot because of similar mistakes.


advertisement | advertise on News 12

Top 5 Must See

The crash occurred at the corner of College 1 Motorcycle, SUV collide in Selden
The blaze broke out at the Davidson Avenue 2 Firefighter injured while battling house fire in Lynbrook
United States Attorney General Jeff Sessions promised to 3 AG Sessions to MS-13 on LI: We are coming for you
Sen. Phil Boyle is pushing to make it 4 Sen. Boyle pushes to ban posting violent acts on social media
United States Attorney General Jeff Sessions was met 5 Protesters gather as AG Sessions speaks on LI gang violence

advertisement | advertise on News 12


Each week, News 12's Doug Geed explores the Check out fun things to do on the East End!

Explore the Twin Forks with News 12's Doug Geed.

Each week a different shelter visits News 12 Dog Day Fridays Series

Each week a different shelter visits News 12 Long Island with pets up for adoption.

News 12 digs deep to find Long Island's Discover Long Island's Hidden Past

News 12's Danielle Campbell digs into Long Island's roots.

News 12's Lily Stolzberg sees how much Long On The Spot

News 12's Lily Stolzberg sees how much Long Islanders know about everything and anything.

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.