Gov. Cuomo declares state of emergency for parts of NY

NEW YORK - Gov. Andrew Cuomo has declared a state of emergency in parts of New York as heavy snow and strong winds move through the area. Cuomo issued the state of emergency for the following counties: Suffolk, Nassau, Richmond, Kings, Queens, New York, Bronx, Westchester and Rockland.

Forecasters expect the storm to leave close to 14 inches of snow in parts of the state before leaving the area early Wednesday morning.

According to Cuomo, the state has activated 239 plows, 27 front loaders and 428 operators on Long Island. That number includes 30 plows and 71 operators deployed from upstate.

Commuters are urged to stay off the roadways. Transit riders are urged to check the status of their trains at the MTA website.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Top 5 Must See

The vigil for Banegas took place at the 1 Vigil held for victim in Central Islip Park killing
Police say two men were killed Saturday in 2 Police: 2 killed in West Babylon crash
Police say a motorcyclist was killed in a 3 Manorville man killed in motorcycle crash
State police say a man allegedly exposed himself 4 Man exposes himself to 3 women running near Bethpage State Parkway
Nassau County police say an elderly woman was 5 Elderly woman killed in head-on collision

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.